RTD 温度传感器的基本原理

 
RTD 温度传感器是广泛应用于工业过程中的常用温度测量设备。在本文中,我们将对其工作原理、最常见的类型以及其优缺点进行研究。

 

“RTD”是“电阻温度检测器”的首字母缩写。通常,RTD 包含铂、镍或铜线,因为这些材料是正温度系数材料。这意味着随着温度升高电阻也随之增加 – 电阻的这种变化将用于探测和测量温度变化。

 

铂 RTD

铂 RTD 是工业应用中最常见的 RTD 类型。这是因为铂具有出色的耐腐蚀性,卓越的长期稳定性,并且测量温度范围很广 (-200…+850°C)。

 

镍 RTD

镍 RTD 比铂 RTD 便宜,并且具有良好的耐腐蚀性。但是,随着时间的推移,镍会加速老化,并且在较高温度下精度会降低。镍的温度测量范围为 -80…+260°C。

 

铜 RTD

铜 RTD 在三种类型 RTD 中具有最佳的电阻-温度线性关系,而且铜材料成本低廉。但是,铜在较高温度下会发生氧化。铜的测量范围为 -200…+260°C。

 

 

 

RTD 的构造

大多数 RTD 是通过以下三种方式之一制造配置:绕线 RTD,线圈元件 RTD 和薄膜 RTD。

 

 

绕线 RTD

 

 

在 绕线 RTD 中,电阻线绕在通常是由陶瓷制成的绝缘芯轴上。传感器制造商会通过仔细修剪电阻丝的长度,以达到在 0°C 时的规定电阻值。这称为“R0”电阻。

 

接下来,将导线连接到电阻线上,然后在导线上施涂玻璃或陶瓷涂层进行保护。随着温度升高,电阻丝的长度会略微增加。设计中必须注意确保电阻丝不会随温度升高而发生扭曲或变形。因为机械应变会导致导线电阻发生变化。

 

校准和标准实验室使用的实验室级别 RTD 是通过将电阻丝松散地缠绕在绝缘支撑结构上来消除这种误差。该类型的 RTD 非常精准,但非常脆弱,并不适用于大多数工业应用。

 

 

线圈元件 RTD 

 

 

在 线圈元件 RTD 中,电阻丝被卷成小线圈,松散地封装进陶瓷管中,然后在管中填充绝缘粉末。电阻丝可随温度变化自由伸缩,从而最大程度地减少由机械应变引起的误差。粉末可提高热量传递到线圈中的速率,从而改善响应时间。线圈元件 RTD 通常由金属护套保护,并且适用于工业应用。

 

 

薄膜 RTD

 

 

 

薄膜 RTD 可批量生产且成本低于其他类型 RTD。薄膜 RTD 体积较小,并且响应速度比其他类型 RTD 快,这是许多应用所期望的效果。薄膜 RTD 是通过在陶瓷基体上沉积出一层薄薄的铂形成路径而制成。

 

制造商通过用激光打开路径中的并联分流器来调节 0°C 时的电阻。分流器开路越多,0°C 时的电阻越高。薄膜 RTD 的精度不如其他类型,是由于:

 

  • 无法像其他类型 RTD 一样精确地调整 R0 电阻。
  • 陶瓷基底和铂涂层的膨胀率略有差异。因此在较高温度下会产生应变误差。
  • 由于薄膜 RTD 体积较小,因而 RTD 励磁电流更易导致其自身发热而产生略高的误差。

 

 

RTD 电阻比

术语“电阻比”表示 RTD 温度从 0°C 变为 +100°C 时温度与电阻的平均比率。电阻比的表达式为:

 

(R100-R0) / R0

 

在此表达式中:

R100 = 100°C 时的 RTD 电阻。

R0 = 0°C 时的 RTD 电阻。

 

制造 RTD 所用的金属类型和纯度都会对电阻比造成影响。通常,具有高 R0 值和高电阻比的 RTD 更易于进行精确测量,但是电阻丝所采用金属的其他特性也会影响 RTD 的固有精度。

 

 

工业应用中的铂 RTD 通常符合 IEC 60751 标准。这些 RTD 的电阻比为 (138.5 Ω - 100 Ω)/100 Ω = 0.385 Ω / °C。在典型的工业应用中,将 RTD 插入不锈钢护套进行保护。

 

实验室级别 RTD 标准采用的是具有更高电阻比且更高纯度的铂:(139.2 Ω - 100 Ω)/100 Ω = 0.392 Ω / °C。在超过 +670°C 的温度下,不锈钢探头会释放出金属离子对高纯度的铂造成污染,引起电阻比变化。因此,这一类的 RTD 采用石英玻璃或铂制成的探头进行保护。这些探头材料在高温下仍能保持惰性,因此 RTD 能够不受污染。

 

符合 DIN 43760 的镍 RTD 的电阻比为 (161.7805 Ω – 100 Ω)/100Ω = 0.618 Ω / °C。美国常用的镍 RTD 的电阻比为 (200.64 Ω – 120 Ω)/120 Ω = 0.672 Ω / °C(如上图所示)。

 

铜 RTD[1] 有 R0 = 9.035 Ω 或 100 Ω 可供选择。两种类型的电阻比均为 0.427:

 

(12.897 Ω - 9.035 Ω) / 9.035 Ω = 0.427 Ω / °C。

(142.7 Ω – 100 Ω) / 100 Ω = 0.427 Ω / °C。

 

 

使用镍或铜 RTD 的益处

在 0°C 时,镍会产生高电阻,并且具有高电阻比,镍 RTD 对温度变化的敏感性使其易于进行测量。镍 RTD 的这些特性还可将导线电阻引起的误差最小化。对于 RTD,导线电阻引起的近似误差为:

 

导线电阻 / (R100-R0) x 0.01

 

例如:

两线制镍 RTD 测量空气管道温度。每根导线的电阻为 0.25Ω,总导线电阻为 0.5Ω。

 

因此,由导线电阻引起的误差计算如下:

0.5 Ω / (161.78 – 100) x 0.01 = 0.81°C。这在许多应用中已经是非常逼近真实值了。

 

为进行比较,以下是具有相同导线电阻的两线制铂 RTD 的误差值:

0.5 Ω / (138.5 – 100) x 0.01 = 1.3°C。

 

因镍 RTD 非常灵敏,因此低成本、低精度的变送器便足以满足镍 RTD 的测量要求。在 HVAC(空调系统)和其他对价格敏感的工业应用中常见镍 RTD 的身影。

 

铜 RTD 具有与电动机和发电机中使用的铜绕组相同的热膨胀率和电磁滞后。因此,铜 RTD 往往用于测量绕组温度。

 

铜还具有线性度极高的温度与电阻关系。因此,对较窄的温度范围,无需额外的线性化处理就可以精确测量。

 

例如:

铜 100 RTD 在 0°C 时产生 100Ω 的电阻,在 100°C 时产生 142.743Ω 的电阻。线性外推出 50°C 时的理论电阻:(R100 – R0)/2 + R0

 

= (142.743 – 100)/2 + 100 = 121.3715 Ω

 

根据已发布的“电阻与温度”表可知,RTD 在 50°C 时产生的电阻为 121.3715 Ω,因此 RTD 在 0…+ 100°C 范围内基本呈线性的。

 

除非测量范围跨度大,否则铜不会出现明显的非线性。例如,测量范围为 0…+200°C,线性外推得出 100°C 时的理论电阻为 (185.675 – 100)/2 + 100 = 142.838 Ω。但是,根据“电阻与温度”表,在 100°C 下的 RTD 电阻为 142.743 Ω。

 

+0.095 Ω 换算成 °C(温度)的差值为:0.095 Ω/0.427 Ω 每度 = 误差 +0.222°C。

 

RTD 公差

大多数传感器制造商制造的铂 RTD 的精度均符合 IEC 60751 或 ASTM E1137 标准。

 

IEC 60751 标准定义了四个公差等级:AA、A、B 和 C 级。ASTM E1137 标准定义了两个公差等级:A 和B 级。

 

 

 

请注意,IEC 60751 规定了每个级别的最高温度范围。例如,配备有线圈 RTD 元件的 A 级传感器在 -100…+450°C 温度范围内的公差必须维持在规定公差范围内。在此温度范围之外工作时,传感器精度可以默认为 B 级。

 

符合 ASTM E1137 A 级或 B 级公差的传感器在 -200…+650°C 温度范围内的公差必须维持在规定公差范围内。

 

下表为 RTD 各级别和等级的公差。请注意,C 级 RTD 在 600°C 时的公差宽至 ±6.6°C。大多数工业应用需要具有 B 级或更高级别公差的 RTD。

 

 

 

下图为符合 IEC60751 的 RTD 公差。您可以看到 RTD 在 0°C 时精度最高,随着温度升高或降低,误差均比 0°C 时大。

 

 

 

许多传感器制造商提供的 RTD 其公差优于 AA 级公差。这些高精度 RTD 的公差通常视作 B 级公差的一小部分。在下图中,“1/5 B级”RTD 在 -30…150°C 之间的公差仅为 ± (0.06 + 0.001 ǀ t ǀ)。该公差是 B 级 RTD 的五倍。

 

 

 

Callendar Van Dusen 方程

Callendar van Dusen 方程诠释了工业铂 RTD 的温度与电阻的关系。有两个 Callendar van Dusen 方程:

 

温度 < 0°C 时,给定温度的 RTD 电阻为:

Rt = R0[1 + At + Bt² + C (t - 100) t³]

 

温度 ≥0°C 时,给定温度的 RTD 电阻为:

Rt = R0(1 + At + Bt²)

 

系数 A、B、C 和 α、δ、β 对于每个 RTD 都是唯一的。以下值适用于符合 IEC 60751 和 ASTM E1137 标准的 RTD:

 

A = 3.9083 x 10-3

B = -5.775 x 10-7

C = -4.183 x 10-12

α = 3.85 x 10-3 *

β = 1.5°C

δ = 0.1086

 

*“α”是“Alpha”常数。Alpha 是电阻比 /100:

α = (R100 – R0) / (100 x R0).

符合 IEC 60751 的铂 RTD 的 alpha 为:

(138.5 – 100) / (100 x 100)

= 0.00385

 

镍 RTD 的 alpha 为:

0.672 / 100 = 0.00672。

 

铜 RTD 的 alpha 为:

0.427 / 100 = 0.00427。

 

RTD 特性

即使是高质量的 RTD 也不完全符合 IEC 60751 / ASTM E1137 R:T 曲线。为进一步提高测量精度,校准实验室可以“表征”RTD。通过仔细测量几个不同温度的 RTD 电阻,然后使用该数据得出 α、δ、β 以及 A、B 和 C 系数来进行表征。

 

可以使用这些系数对 5437 二线制 HART 7 温度变送器, the 5337 二线制 HART 变送器6337 二线制 HART 变送器,使变送器与表征后的 RTD 精确匹配,从而提供更为出色的测量精度。

 

返回 PR 知识库


 

[1]注意:与铜 9.035 RTD 相比,铜 100 RTD 具有更高的 R100-R0 值,并且更易于进行测量。

 

此信息是否有用?

 

请对我们进行评价

(160 票)

The fundamentals of RTD temperature sensors

 
An RTD temperature sensor is a common device for temperature measurements in a wide range of industrial applications. In this article, we take a look at how they work, the most common types, and their advantages and disadvantages.

The acronym “RTD” stands for “Resistance Temperature Detector”. Typically, RTDs contain either platinum, nickel, or copper wires, as these materials have a positive temperature coefficient. This means that a rise in temperature results in an increased resistance – this change of resistance is then used to detect and measure temperature changes.

 

Platinum RTDs

Platinum RTDs are the most common type of RTD used in industrial applications. This is because platinum has excellent corrosion resistance, excellent long-term stability, and measures a wide range of temperature, (-200…+850°C).

 

Nickel RTDs

Nickel RTDs are less expensive than platinum and have good corrosion resistance. However, nickel ages more rapidly over time and loses accuracy at higher temperatures. Nickel is limited to a measurement range of -80…+260°C.

 

Copper RTDs

Copper RTDs have the best resistance to temperature linearity of the three RTD types, and copper is a low cost material. However, copper oxidizes at higher temperatures. Copper is limited to a measurement range of -200…+260°C.

 

 

 

 

How RTDs are constructed

Most RTDs are built in one of three ways: wire wound RTDs, coiled element RTDs, and thin film RTDs.

 

 

Wire wound RTD 

 

 

In a wire wound RTD, a resistance wire is wound around a non-conducting core, which is usually made of ceramic. The sensor maker carefully trims the length of resistance wire to achieve the specified resistance at 0°C. This is called the “R0” resistance.

 

Next, lead wires are attached to the resistance wire, and then a glass or ceramic coating is applied over the wire for protection. As temperature increases, the length of resistance wire increases slightly. Care must be taken in the design to ensure that the resistance wire does not twist or otherwise deform as temperature increases. This is because mechanical strain causes a change in wire resistance.

 

Laboratory-grade RTDs used by calibration and standards laboratories eliminate this source of error by loosely winding resistance wire around a non-conducting support structure. This type of RTD can be extremely accurate, but is fragile and not suited for most industrial applications.

 

 

Coiled element RTD 

 

 

In a coiled element RTD, the resistance wire is rolled into small coils, which loosely fit into a ceramic form that is then filled with non-conductive powder. The resistance wire is free to expand and contract as temperature changes, minimizing error caused by mechanical strain. The powder increases the rate of heat transfer into the coils, thereby improving the response time. Coiled element RTDs are usually protected by a metal sheath and are used in industrial applications.

 

 

Thin film RTD

 

 

Thin film RTDs are mass-produced and cost less than the other RTD types. They are smaller, and have a faster response time than the others, which is desirable in many applications. They are made by depositing a thin pathway of platinum on a ceramic base.

 

The manufacturer adjusts the resistance at 0°C by opening parallel shunts in the pathway with a laser beam. The more shunts are opened, the higher is the resistance at 0°C. Thin film RTDs are not as accurate as the other types because:

 

  • The R0 resistance cannot be adjusted as precisely as in the other types.
  • The ceramic base and platinum coating have slightly different expansion rates. This creates a strain error at higher temperatures.
  • Because thin film RTDs are smaller, the RTD excitation current causes a slightly higher error due to RTD self-heating.

 

 

RTD resistance ratio

The term “resistance ratio” describes the average slope of temperature vs. resistance as the RTD temperature changes from 0°C to +100°C. The expression for resistance ratio is:

 

(R100-R0) / R0

 

Where:

R100 = RTD Resistance at 100°C.

R0 = RTD Resistance at 0°C.

 

Resistance ratio is affected by the type and purity of the metal used to make the RTD. In general, RTDs that have a high R0 value combined with a high resistance ratio are easier to measure accurately, but other characteristics of the metal used in the resistance wire still affect the inherent accuracy of the RTD.

 

 

Platinum RTDs found in industrial applications, usually conform to the IEC 60751 standard. These RTDs have a resistance ratio of (138.5 Ω - 100 Ω) / 100 Ω = 0.385 Ω / °C. In a typical industrial application, this type of RTD is protected by inserting it into a stainless steel sheath.

 

Laboratory-grade RTD standards use higher purity platinum with a higher resistance ratio: (139.2 Ω - 100 Ω) / 100 Ω = 0.392 Ω / °C. At temperatures above +670°C, metal ions liberated from the stainless steel probe will contaminate the high purity platinum, changing its resistance ratio. For this reason, these RTDs are protected by a probe made of silica glass or platinum. These probe materials remain inert at high temperatures, so the RTD remains uncontaminated.

 

Nickel RTDs conforming to DIN 43760 have a resistance ratio of (161.7805 Ω – 100 Ω) / 100 Ω = 0.618 Ω / °C. Nickel RTDs commonly used in the USA have a resistance ratio of (200.64 Ω – 120 Ω) / 120 Ω = 0.672 Ω / °C (shown in the graph above).

 

Copper RTDs[1] are available with R0 = 9.035 Ω or 100 Ω. Both types have a 0.427 resistance ratio:

 

(12.897 Ω - 9.035 Ω) / 9.035 Ω = 0.427 Ω / °C.

(142.7 Ω – 100 Ω) / 100 Ω = 0.427 Ω / °C.

 

 

Benefits of using nickel or copper RTDs

Nickel creates a high resistance at 0°C and has a high resistance ratio, making this sensitive RTD easy to measure. These qualities also minimize error due to lead wire resistance. For an RTD, the approximate error due to lead wire resistance is:

 

Lead wire resistance / (R100-R0) x 0.01

 

For example:

A 2-wire nickel RTD measures an air duct temperature. Each lead wire has a resistance of 0.25 Ω, for a total lead wire resistance of 0.5 Ω.

 

The error due to lead wire resistance can therefore be calculated as follows:

0.5 Ω / (161.78 – 100) x 0.01 = 0.81°C. This is close enough for many applications.

 

To compare, here are the numbers for a 2-wire platinum RTD with the same lead wire resistance:

0.5 Ω / (138.5 – 100) x 0.01 = 1.3°C.

 

Because a nickel RTD is so sensitive, a low-cost, low-accuracy transmitter can measure the RTD with acceptable accuracy. Nickel RTDs are found in HVAC and other price sensitive applications.

 

Copper RTDs have the same thermal expansion rate and electromagnetic hysteresis as copper windings used in electric motors and generators. For these reasons, copper RTDs are sometimes used to measure winding temperature.

 

Copper also has an extremely linear temperature vs. resistance relationship. Because of this, it is possible to accurately measure a narrow temperature span without additional linearization.

 

For example:

A Cu100 RTD creates 100 Ω resistance at 0°C and 142.743 Ω resistance at 100°C. A linear extrapolation gives the theoretical resistance at 50°C: (R100 – R0)/2 + R0

 

= (142.743 – 100)/2 + 100 = 121.3715 Ω

 

According to published Resistance vs. Temperature tables, the RTD creates a resistance of 121.3715 Ω at 50°C, so the RTD is functionally linear between 0…+100°C.

 

The non-linearity of copper does not become apparent unless measuring a wide span. For example, if measuring 0…+200°C, a linear extrapolation gives the theoretical resistance at 100°C as (185.675 – 100) / 2 + 100 = 142.838 Ω. According to the tables however, the RTD resistance at 100°C is 142.743 Ω.

 

The difference of +0.095 Ω in°C : 0.095 Ω / 0.427 Ω per degree = an error of +0.222°C.

 

RTD tolerance

Most sensor builders make Platinum RTDs with accuracy levels that conform with the IEC 60751 or ASTM E1137 RTD standards.

 

The IEC 60751 standard defines four tolerance classes: Class AA, A, B, and C. The ASTM E1137 standard defines two tolerance grades: Grade A and B.

 

 

 

Note that IEC 60751 specifies a maximum temperature range for each class. For example, a class A sensor equipped with a coiled RTD element must maintain the specified tolerance from -100…+450°C. When operated outside this temperature range, the sensor accuracy might default to class B.

 

Sensors that meet ASTM E1137 grade A or grade B tolerance must maintain the specified tolerance from -200…+650°C.

 

This table shows the calculated tolerance for each class and grade of RTD. Notice that class C RTDs have a wide tolerance of ±6.6°C at 600°C. Most industrial applications require RTDs with Class B or better tolerance.

 

 

 

The following graph shows the tolerance of RTDs that conform to IEC60751. You can see that RTDs are most accurate at 0°C, and exhibit a greater error as temperature gets hotter or colder than 0°C.

 

 

 

Many sensor builders offer RTDs with better than Class AA tolerance. The tolerance of these high accuracy RTDs is usually described as a fraction of class B tolerance. In the graph below, a “1/5 Class B” RTD has a tolerance of only ± (0.06 + 0.001 ǀ t ǀ) between -30…150°C. This tolerance is five times better than a class B RTD.

 

 

 

Callendar Van Dusen equations

The Callendar van Dusen equations describe the temperature vs. resistance relationship of industrial platinum RTDs. There are two Callendar van Dusen equations:

 

For temperatures < 0°C, RTD resistance at a given temperature is:

Rt = R0[1 + At + Bt² + C (t - 100) t³]

 

For temperatures ≥ 0°C, RTD resistance at a given temperature is:

Rt = R0(1 + At + Bt²)

 

Coefficients A, B, C, and α, δ, β are unique to each RTD. The following values apply to RTDs conforming to IEC 60751 and ASTM E1137 standards:

 

A = 3.9083 x 10-3

B = -5.775 x 10-7

C = -4.183 x 10-12

α = 3.85 x 10-3 *

β = 1.5°C

δ = 0.1086

 

* “α” is the “Alpha” constant. Alpha is resistance ratio/100:

α = (R100 – R0) / (100 x R0).

The alpha of a Platinum RTD that complies with IEC 60751 is:

(138.5 – 100) / (100 x 100)

= 0.00385

 

Nickel RTDs have an alpha of:

0.672 / 100 = 0.00672.

 

Copper RTDs have an alpha of:

0.427 / 100 = 0.00427.

 

RTD characterization

 

Even high quality RTDs do not exactly match the IEC 60751 / ASTM E1137 R:T curve. To further improve measurement accuracy, a calibration lab can “characterize” an RTD. This is done by carefully measuring the RTD resistance at a few different temperatures and then using that data to derive the α, δ, β and A, B, and C coefficients.

 

The 5437 2-wire HART temperature transmitter, the 5337 2-wire transmitter with HART protocol, and the 6337 2-wire HART transmitter can be programmed with these coefficients, precisely matching the transmitter to a characterized RTD for exceptional measurement accuracy.  

 

Back to PR Knowledge Library


 

[1] NOTE: A Cu100 RTD has a greater R100-R0 value, and is easier to measure than the Cu9.035 RTD.

 

Is this information helpful?

 

Rate us

(60 Votes)